About Us

The Astronomical (former Mathematical & Astronomical Society) of the University of Colombo is one of the oldest societies in the university system. It was established in 1950s, when the University of Ceylon exited. It comprises of university students. World renowned astronomers like Prof. Chandra Wickramasinghe, Prof. L. S. R. Wijewardane had been the past presidents of this society at their studenthood. Prof. V. K. Samaranayake, Prof. Valantine Josheph & several other eminent scientists also held positions in this society when they were undergraduates.

If you want any help or advice from us, please contact:

Prof. K.P.S. Chandana Jayaratne

Professor in Physics, Immediate Past General President-Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science, Director of Astronomy and Space Science Unit, Department of Physics & Adviser / Senior Staff Treasurer-Astronomical Society of University of Colombo, National Coordinator- Sri Lankan Olympiads on Astronomy and Astrophysics, Former consultant to Astronomy & Space Applications Division and current Board Member- Arthur C. Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies

Email:- chandanajayaratne@gmail.com Voice:- +94714800800

Office Bearers of Astronomical Society of University of Colombo

President – Chathuni Dhaneesha
Vice President – Uditha Weerasinghe
Secretary – Yasitha Dilshan
Assistant Secretary – Sarala Sewwandi
Junior Treasurer – Sandakelum Jayasuriya
Librarian – Saumya Hansanie
Organizer – Udara Kumaranathunga
IT Coordinator – Anushangi Kariyawasam
Editor – Nimthara Senevirathne